J B Carr  

J.B. Carr Tournament 2022

Woodenbridge Golf Club is pleased to advise the J.B.Carr Tournament will take place in 2022.

The closing date for entries is 28th February 2022 and draws will take place in early March 2022.

Thanks to all the clubs who entered a team in the past, we do hope to welcome you to the 2022 Tournament.

Invitation Letter 2022

Please find attached Entry Form here

J.B.Carr Tournament 2022 RULES

Please click here to open 2022 J.B.Carr Tournament Rules  

2022 J.B.Carr Draws

Please click here for 2022 Leinster Draw

Please click here for 2022 Munster Draw

Please click here for 2022 Ulster Draw

Please click here for 2022 Connacht Draw

Best of Luck to all the Teams.

J.B.Carr Team Sheet

Please click here to download Teamsheet

2019 J B Carr Finals


Sunday 1st September 2019 

0D69B23C 3429 464B 97BD 32363814FB5C.jpeg

Placing Golf Club Province
Winner Ballykisteen Golf Club Munster
Runner Up Castlebar Golf Club Connaught
3rd Place Rossmore Golf Club Ulster
4th Place Cill Dara Golf Club Leinster

A very exciting finish to the  2019 J B Carr Diamond Trophy  All Ireland Finals 3rd & 4th Playoff at 10 am  Rossmore GC played Cill Dara GC - TEAM SHEET  Rossmore came out ahead securing 3rd place.

The All Ireland Final at 11.am featured Castlebar GC vs Ballykisteen GC - TEAM SHEET with Ballykisteen Golf Club from  (Tipperary ) Munster the 2019 J B Carr Diamond Trophy Champions. A great match played with sporting spirit.    

A great days golf in Woodenbridge today

10 am Rossmore GC vs Ballykisteen GC   RESULTS  TEAM SHEET 

11am Cill Dara vs Castlebar GC   RESULTS    TEAM SHEET

After a lovely opening ceremony where our resident piper Denis New led the parade to the clubhouse and welcomed the four finalists with a tune from each province, President Frank Duffy outlined the history of the J B Carr Diamond Trophy now in its 26th Year, and welcomed the four Provincial finalists to Woodenbridge Golf Club for a week of good golf and new friendships.   Mr Henry Crummy conducted the draw for semi finals.

Rossmore GC vs Ballykisteen GC   

Cill Dara vs Castlebar GC  

The long awaited finals of the  2019 J B Carr Diamond Trophy will be commenced with an opening ceremony at 7 pm on Friday 30th August 2019.

The four qualifying teams are  Munster - Ballykisteen  GC(Tipperary), Connaught - Castlebar GC, Leinster -   Kildare (Cill Dara) GC.  Ulster - Rossmore GC.

A draw for the two semi finals will be held at the opening ceremony and will be played at 10.am and 11.am Saturday 31st of August and the 3rd and 4th playoff at 10.am and Final 11.am Sunday 1st, September.

There will be a gala dinner and presentation of prizes in clubhouse at 7 pm.

2019 Photo Gallery


Leinster  Kildare (Cill Dara) GC - Old Conna GC Wicklow
Connacht  Sligo Enniscrone GC - Mayo Castlebar GC
Munster  Tipperary -  Ballykisteen GC vs  Kerry Tralee GC

 Donegal - Rosapenna GC vs Monaghan Rossmore GC


J B Carr Previous Winners


National Champions Runner Up 3rd Place 4th Place
2019 Ballykisteen - Munster Castlebar - Connaught Rossmore - Ulster Cill Dara - Leinster
2018 The K Club - Leinster Portumna - Connaught Templemore - Munster Ballybofey & Stranorlar- Ulster
2017 Portumna   - Connaught The K Club - Leinster Strabane   - Ulster Fermoy   - Munster
2016 Nenagh   - Munster Athy   - Leinster Castle Hume   - Ulster Enniscrone   - Connaught
2015 Ballybofey & Stranorlar  - Ulster Tuam   - Connacht Thurles   - Munster Tullamore   - Leinster
2014 Adare Manor   - South Region Strabane   - North Region Castlewarden   - Eastern Region Ballybofey & Stranorlar - West Region
2013 Enniscrone   - Western Region Limerick   - South Region Carlow   - East Region Castle Hume   - North Region
2012 Ballinrobe    - Connacht Ennis   - Munster Castlehume   - Ulster The Island   - Leinster
2011 Thurles   - Munster The Heath   - Leinster Clandeboye   - Ulster Strandhill   - Connachtt
2010 Ennis   - Munster Galway   - Connacht The Island   - Leinster Ballybofey & Stranorlar  - Ulster
2009 Galway   - Connacht Tullamore   - Leinster Tralee   - Munster Ballymena   - Ulster
2008 Tralee   - Munster Tullamore   - Leinster Co Sligo   - Connacht Strabane   - Leinster
2007 Tuam   - Connacht Tralee   - Munster Stackstown   - Leinster Strabane   - Leinster
2006 Newlands   - Leinster Carrick on Suir - Munster Athenry   - Connacht Bundoran   - Ulster
2005 Stackstown   - Leinster Galway   - Connacht Nenagh   - Munster Cavan   - Ulster
2004 Charleville   - Munster Tuam   - Connacht Cavan   - Ulster Dundalk   - Leinster
2003 Charleville   - Munster Galway   - Connacht Portsalon   - Ulster Co. Louth   - Leinster
2002 Charleville   - Munster Clontarf   - Leinster Co Sligo   - Connacht Castlerock   - Ulster
2001 Galway   - Connacht Rosslare   - Leinster Charleville   - Munster Rossmore   - Ulster
2000 The Heath   - Leinster Tralee   - Munster Strandhill   - Connacht Cliftonville   - Ulster
1999 Galway   - Connacht Charleville   - Munster Carlow   - Leinster Bangor   - Ulster
1998 Fermoy   - Munster Galway   - Connacht Mullingar   - Leinster Balmoral   - Ulster
1997 Galway   - Connacht Waterford   - Munster Royal Tara   - Leinster Moyola Park   - Ulster
1996 Courtown   - Leinster Waterford   - Munster Rossmore   - Ulster Oughterard   - Connacht

About J B Carr

The J.B. Carr Diamond Trophy was inaugurated by Woodenbridge Golf Club in 1996. This popular event has effectively become the Senior Club Championship of Ireland (Over 60's) with some 200 or so clubs from every corner of Ireland participating. The semi-finals and finals are held each year in Woodenbridge Golf Club, usually over the second weekend of September.

The competition was the brainchild of a distinguished Woodenbridge member and past Captain, the Late Fr. Gerry O’Brien. His vision was a tournament for mature golfers from all corners of Ireland. 

jb carrA great friend of Woodenbridge G.C., the legendary Dr. Joe Carr, expressed keen interest in lending his name to the tournament and kindly offered to present a perpetual trophy (a beautiful Silver Salver which Dr. Carr himself won in the Irish Close Championship of 1951). Given that the inaugural event was being staged at relatively short notice, it came as some surprise that 70 teams from around the country entered the competition that year. The event has flourished into one of the largest inter-club competitions on this island.

The format for the tournament is Scotch Foursomes Matchplay with each participating club selecting 10 gentlemen members over the age of 60 (playing off full GUI handicap + courtesy shot to the away team). The teams initially compete at county level and then for their provincial title. The four winning provincial teams then travel to Woodenbridge in September for the All-Ireland finals.

One of the great features of this competition is that it brings together clubs that might not ordinarily meet. The weekend programme begins on the Friday evening with a reception in the clubhouse for the finalists and a draw for the semi-finals which are played on the Saturday.

The Final takes place on the Sunday and the presentation ceremony that evening follows what has always been a great sporting and social occasion.

Archive of Previous Finals

Click Here for 2019 J B Carr Gallery of Photographs

Click Here for 2019 J B Carr Final Match Results

Click Here for 2018 J B Carr Gallery of Photographs

Click Here for 2018 J B Carr Final  Match Results

Click Here for 2017 J B Carr Gallery of Photographs

Click Here for 2017 J B Carr Final  Match Results